Hallucinogenic

I see a kaleidoscope of colors;
Faces and figures,
Hindu Goddesses and mothers.
I see a bygone era
Of dark alleys and self-doubt;
Of faces and marshmallow clouds.
I forget my countenance,
In Alice’s wonderland.
I lose me, I lose myself.
And I’m lost in a fairy tale.
I’m a flying dragon,
Soaring over oceans of hail.
I was falling and rising;
Dreaming and awakening.
It was all the same,
And yet noting changed.
It was gentle demons
And frightening roses.
It was confusing and reassuring,
like a pocketful of posies.
I rose like a phoenix from my ashes
And fell back into the flames.
It was a kaleidoscope of good and evil,
Of the doubts that prevail,
Of the forgotten and the forbidden:
My inner bruises.
It was a lullaby of fruits
And marshmallow clouds.
It was the lore of a Hindu Goddess;
A holy river with yellow waves;
A sage atop the mountains;
 And a girl with a forgotten face.
One thought on “Hallucinogenic

  1. This is so true. True as in honest.

    ‘It was gentle demons
    And frightening roses.
    It was confusing and reassuring,
    like a pocketful of posies.’ stole the show for me.

    🙂

    I too want to write something on this. A farewell poem. Lets see.

    Good one, woman. 🙂

Leave a Reply

