Mists

Sitting alone on the forest floor,
Bygone breezes tousle my hair.
I lie down on the swampy floor
Ripples lull me into a dreamy lair.
Friends they were yesterday;
Silhouettes of foes resemble them.
Out in the darkness, it isn’t very clear.
I could never see very well, anyway.
Fairies whisper in my ear,
Mermaids look up from the waters below.
Friends they were yesterday,
Today they are here no more.
A tear rolls down
But I’m not sad.
There is bliss in solitude,
It is not that bad.
I look over to my lover’s lair
It is but empty, I am aware.
I peep into the waters once more.
The mists rise, it clears:
I see myself
All alone.
Love and lust, a lost war;
No casualties, no one ever fought.
I see myself wrinkled, weary.
Awakened, I rise, dreary.
I peak into the waters, again.
An old lady smiles back through tears.
She is but alone;
And has been all these years.
I sigh. It has drawn to a close,
I recognize. Wading into the lake
I close my eyes again.
The mists rise and settle.
Peace at last, here to stay.
Music plays, softly, surely;
Celebrating her demise.
“Solitude is beautiful”,
They say amidst sighs.
Fairies blow out their candles.
Mermaids retire to their shells.
The forest slumbers at long last,
Almost unaware of fairytales.
Leave a Reply

